Your Cart
BOX NOW! Free Delivery to Greek destinations within 24 hours!
Pickup anytime 24/7

ANGUS - Track Of Doom CD

ANGUS - Track Of Doom CD
Out Of Stock
ANGUS - Track Of Doom CD
In the spring of 1983, four friends started to rehearse on the attic of an old Amsterdam canal house. They played as fast and loud as they possibly could. Soon this foursome came up with a name for their band. The guitarist thought that they made music rugged like a Scottish Bull. This particular type of bull was called ANGUS. A part from that, ANGUS was the first name of one of his favorite guitar players, Angus Young of AC/DC. Although the ANGUS songs were quite different from the famous AC/DC sound. Anyway, ANGUS was born into this world. Typical of Dutch Heavy Metal in those days was the combination of speed and melody. The initial ANGUS sound was based on classical music structures. From that moment the specific ANGUS sound developed, unlike the mean stream sound of most other Dutch Metal bands. The combination of up tempo metal guitar riffs, classic etudes and fast double bass action proved to be very interesting listening material for Metal fans. Because of that, ANGUS was one of a kind in the Dutch Metal scene.

After a few months, ANGUS released their first 4-track demo tape and got some gigs in the Amsterdam region. ANGUS went on their first tour throughout Holland in 1984. This was not unnoticed by the press. The audience was warmed up for the first ANGUS release on vinyl. ANGUS recorded two songs for the compilation album 'The Heavy Touch' in the summer of 1985. Together with five other promising Dutch Metal bands 'The Heavy Touch' went on tour throughout Holland. 'Lonesome Fighter' (a composition of bass player Gerard) was one of the best songs of 'The Heavy Touch'. The release of the compilation album was considered a success, due to record sales and a lot of media attention.

At this time ANGUS was ready to release their first album. Megaton Records, the HM label of Boudisque Records, signed ANGUS soon after the 'Heavy Touch' project ended. In the summer of 1986 'Track of doom' was released. This debut album was produced by the four band members their selves and was full with excellent speed metal, which despite a low budget, did sound very good. Holland was shaking on his boots when 'Track of doom' hit the national radio stations and TV channels. With songs from this album, ANGUS made it into the Polish metal top 20. Bear in mind that Poland at that time was still a socialist country behind the iron curtain! A new Dutch tour was set and due to promising record sales and positive feedback from fans and media, the album was released at the beginning of 1987 in the USA through Restless/ Enigma Records. The label responsible for the success of bands like Poison and Stryper.

This is a limited edition CD, with remastered and restored sound. Comes with 16 pages booklet, lyrics, biography and rare photos.
1. The Centaur
2. When Giants Collide
3. Track Of Doom
4. Heavyweight Warrior
5. Finally Out
6. The Gates
7. Dragon Chase
8. Lost Control
9. Night Flight (Demo '83)
10. Keep On Shouting (Demo '83)
11. Virgin Girl (Demo '83)
12. Leading You Back (Demo '83)
Product Details
Band Angus
Format CD
Year 2015
Packaging Type Jewel Case
Number of Discs 1

Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!
Bad Good
Price in reward points: 130
  • Stock: Out Of Stock
  • Reward Points: 6
  • Catalog Number: CULTMETAL059
  • Weight: 0.12kg
  • SKU: 6648218
  • UPC: 520544703811
We use cookies and other similar technologies to improve your browsing experience and the functionality of our site. Privacy Policy.