Your Cart
20% Discount* until December 8th using the coupon code: XMAS2023
* Pre-order and Used items are excluded 

CHASTAIN - Mystery Of Illusion (Anniversary Edition) CD (US IMPORT!)

CHASTAIN - Mystery Of Illusion (Anniversary Edition) CD (US IMPORT!)
Sold Out
CHASTAIN - Mystery Of Illusion (Anniversary Edition) CD (US IMPORT!)
By early-1984, guitar virtuoso David T. Chastain had moved on from his hard rock outfit, Spike, to form the more metal-centric CJSS with the intention of exploring a direction more true to his musical vision. However, before CJSS would go on to achieve success of their own, David caught the attention of Shrapnel Records founder Mike Varney, who wanted to construct a new project around his accomplished musicianship. The #1 prospect to front the band was Rude Girl vocalist Leather Leone, who - alongside Spike and CJSS bassist Mike Skimmerhorn and future Cinderella drummer Fred Coury - cemented the initial lineup of the new project, christened simply: CHASTAIN.

A highly prolific writer, David had stockpiled a wide assortment of tracks to choose from for the group's nine-song debut, Mystery of Illusion - resulting in catchy, high-energy salvos such as "When the Battle's Over"; more melodic compositions like "Endlessly" with especially excellent lead work; and the slower, almost Black Sabbath-like approach of "Night of the Gods." Recorded by Steve Fontano at Prairie Sun Recording Studios in November/December of 1984, Mystery of Illusion was released on LP and cassette through Shrapnel in 1985, with Roadrunner handling the LP in Europe. CHASTAIN's magic combination of David's anthemic songwriting with Leather's soaring vocal power opened the floodgates for the legendary careers for which both artists are now known.

Decades later, Divebomb Records is ecstatic to present this 35th anniversary edition of CHASTAIN's heralded Mystery of Illusion. Fully remastered by Jamie King Audio, the CD will be packaged alongside a 20-page booklet featuring original artwork and lyrics, classic press clippings, and a retrospective interview with David T. Chastain and Leather Leone. For the fans, by the fans!


1. Black Knight
2. When The Battle's Over
3. Mystery Of Illusion
4. I've Seen Tomorrow
5. Endlessly
6. I Fear No Evil
7. Night Of The Gods
8. We Shall Overcome
9. The Winds Of Change

10. Mystery Of Illusion
11. The Winds Of Change
Product Details
Band Chastain
Format CD
Year 2020
Packaging Type / Attributes Jewel Case
Number of Discs 1

Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!
Bad Good
Price in reward points: 1800
  • Stock: Sold Out
  • Reward Points: 9
  • Catalog Number: DIVE207
  • Weight: 0.15kg
  • SKU: 16132303